Always Uplifting!  95.9 the Fish! 

Text us: 866-FISH 959

Mike Donehey, Founding Member of Tenth Avenue North, Releases Solo EP's

Nashville, TN -- Best known as one of the founding members of the successful Christian Music group, Tenth Avenue North, singer/songwriter/author Mike Donehey now launches his solo career with the release of two EP's. 

Roughly one year after Tenth Avenue North called it quitsDonehey makes his musical solo debut with the release of his EP, Work of Art, which is a thank you to his fans and those that supported his Kickstarter campaign for his full-length album.  

RELATED: Tenth Avenue North Announces Band Break Up

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Mike Donehey (@mikedonehey)

Tenth Avenue North's farewell tour was cut short due to the global pandemic leaving him at home during a lockdown wondering what was next. Being part of a band for two decades, he is now learning what it means to create and release music on his own. 

"Being in a band is amazing," shares Donehey. "There’s a sharpening and a refinement that happens when you bring songs for a group to work on it. But there’s an intense freedom I’m feeling working on songs on my own. Ironically, I feel like it’s releasing me to be much more eclectic than I was before. I have a very broad appreciation for genre and lyric, and now, on my own, I’m able to explore much more unchartered sonic territory than I have before."

During 2020 while at home, he began writing as a therapeutic process to deal with the abrupt end of his band as well as being home during lockdown. It was during this time that he realized that his musical career was not ending but pivoting. He then launched a kickstarter campaign as a means to test the waters; whether fans would be interested in stepping up to hear more from Donehey.  They were - VERY interested!

"Encouraged is not the word to describe my Kickstarter campaign," expresses Mike Donehey. "To hit the goal in 13 hours was like getting a heart transplant you didn’t know you needed. FLABBERGASTED. CONFOUNDED. OVERWHELMED. GRATEFUL. These words only begin to scratch the surface of what it means to know that my making music still matters to anyone. To blow past the goal so quickly was everything I didn’t know I needed."

Work of Art  Track Listing

1. What You Mean To Say
2. You Belong Here
3. Work of Art
4. Better

A Father and Two Sons  Track Listing

1. Pushing Me Away
2. I Don’t Love You Like I Should
3. In The Middle